April 10, 2020
Massage in Oregon during Corona
On March 23, 2020 Governor Brown issued Executive Order 20-12, the “Stay Home, Save Lives” order. Governor Brown directed everyone in Oregon to stay at home to the maximum extent possible. She also added to the list of businesses required to temporarily close to stem the spread of COVID-19 in Oregon. Executive Order 20-12 became effective immediately and will remain in effect until further order of the Governor.
Executive Order 20-12 requires the closure of all businesses in which close personal contact is difficult or impossible to avoid. The Order specifically lists “non-medical massage services”, indicating that massage therapists are not to practice massage, unless they are providing “medical massage services.”
What exactly are “medical massage services”?
The “exemption” of medical massage under Executive Order 20-12 is limited to a massage that a physician or someone authorized to prescribe massage in the State of Oregon for medical purposes has recommended to occur for the health of the patient.
At this time, LMTs employed by doctors or at medical clinics or facilities, should consult with their employers to determine if they have any questions regarding “medical massage services” and requirements to work, or not work, accordingly.
The Oregon Board of Massage urges to carefully read the Governor’s Executive Orders. If a business or LMTs could not implement the Governor’s distancing requirements,
they would have to close their practices in compliance of the Executive Orders.
The Board does not have the authority to close businesses or to require businesses to stay open. They should use their best judgment given their circumstances and make the determination if they could safely practice and implement the Governor’s Executive Orders.
Continuing Education: Effective March 24, 2020 through September 30, 2020:
- Completed Renewal Applications remain due on the 1st of an LMT’s birth month. However, late fees will be waived through September 30, 2020, allowing Licensees additional time to renew their license without a penalty.
- Please note: the suspension of the late fees will expire on September 30, 2020. At this time, the late fee will be reinstated effective October 1, 2020.
- LMTs due to renew October 2020 and later will be assessed late fees if a completed renewal is not received by the 1st day of an LMT’s renewal month
- LMTs who do not complete the renewal application by the last day of their birth month will lapse. This rule has not been suspended or waived.
- The number of required CE hours is reduced from 25 hours to 12 hours for completed renewal applications received in the Board office between March 24, 2020, to September 30, 2020, only. Renewal applicants are required to complete a minimum of 12 CE hours.
- The requirement of “contact” or “classroom” hours is waived until September 30, 2020.
- The 12 required CE hours may be contact, non-contact, or both.
- The one hour Cultural Competency CE is a statutory requirement under and must be completed as
either a “non contact” or “contact” and may be applied towards the 12 required CE hours.
- The Pain Management Module, available on the Board’s website, remains a requirement and must be completed. The Pain Management Module may be counted as 1 hour of noncontact towards the 12 hour CE requirement.
- Current Basic Life Support certification at the time of renewal remains a requirement. The BLS course can be “in-person” or completed online, and the hours spent obtaining BLS Certification may be counted towards the 12 required CE hours.
- The 4 hour Ethics, Boundaries, and Communication requirement can be contact or non-contact.
Renewal Applications submitted after September 30, 2020, including incomplete renewal applications submitted prior to September 30, 2020 and not completed by September 30, 2020, must complete the 25 CE hours required including a minimum of 15 contact hours, and the Ethics, Boundaries, and Communication requirement.
Article by Rosa Leonardi